Journey to the Arnold Classic 2013

8 Oct

Alrighty! So you probably found yourself at this blog page because you or a friend heard that I was going to document my journey to the Arnold Classic and you were interested in what I had to say.  That’s AWESOME!!! I hope to not let you down, so if you see me start to go off track and miss entry’s, you have my full permission to give me shit on email, on Facebook, via text, on the street, in the gym, whatever.  I’m not perfect and I don’t advertise that I am.  So here it goes, let’s get this party started! 

I need to back track just a tiny bit and get everyone caught up on what has been happening for the past 6-7 weeks.  Going into the Strongman Fit Challenge at the Europa in Dallas, TX in August, I was about 159 pounds using a carb cycling plan to get to that weight.  I dropped 10 pounds of water weight the day of the weigh-ins to meet the 150 requirements. Then after I won the challenge, I took about a week off of everything.  When I say everything, I mean EVERYTHING! No training, no cardio, no diet, no supplements, nothing!  My number one fan and supporter, my boyfriend Tomas Navarro, got right to work on building my training program for the next 12 weeks so I could take full advantage of this prep time into next year.  Now, if any of you know what happens when you are coming off carb cycling the INCORRECT way, that is exactly what happened to me. Hahahah. And I knew what I was doing when I did it.  Not phasing out of a carb cycling plan equals the fast track to weight gain.  That paired up with a full throttle strength training program and the carbs to fuel it added up to a 31.3 pound weight gain in just 1.5 months for me as of last week.  I did tell you I’m not perfect earlier right?  I do what I wanna do.  I hold the knowledge and the power to get back where I need to be and I take full advantage of it. 

Okay, this is the 1st time I have ever followed an official strength training program and I have seen a ton of changes to my body and my strength in the short amount of time since I began. My training for my new prep started 5 weeks ago today.  We took my 1RM for squat, deadlift and axel clean and press and started off at 75% of those numbers and increased them by 3% every week.   Squats one day, overhead a separate day, and dead’s on its own day as well.  My workouts include the main exercise (squat, clean and press, or dead’s), plus 2 accessory exercises like glute/ham raises, abs, dumbbell shoulder presses, hamstring curls, etc.  and they all end with some type of strength endurance/conditioning exercise like pushing the car through the parking lot, or tire flipping, or hitting the tire with the sledge hammer, or pulling the sled, etc.  I just finished week 6 which was my deload week and we took everything down to about 65/70% to let my body rest.  So far I feel really good.  I can tell I have gained muscle by the way the squat bar sits comfortably low on my back now than before. 

About 2 weeks ago I joined BeachBodys team of training Coaches in the fight against obesity and help bring awareness to my community.  BeachBody feels it is important that their coaches become a product of their product in order to be able to connect with their clients better.  So I have decided to experiment and use BeachBody to help me with my conditioning and to bring my weight down in preparation for the Arnold Classic.  I am going to test this out for 1 month just to make sure that their programs have no impact or minimal impact on my strength capabilities, my energy levels and most important safety.  I can’t afford any time lost due to overtraining and injuries.  Last week I weighed in at 180.3 and I started having just the regular oats and 619 muscle protein shake for breakfast, and then chicken, sweet potatoes, 1 packet of BeachBody’s Shakeology protein powder and this amazing rich shredded green veggie blend from Costco which has kale, broccoli, cabbage, and brussle sprouts.  I was adding 30 minutes of steady state cardio every morning on an empty stomach supplementing with branch chain amino acids and ALR’s new thermo fat burner.  As of today I am 179.3 and about to start the second phase of my training program.  I will be adding in BeachBodys Insanity program at the end of my day before bed every night since I will have time to get the proper nutrition in before they kill me with the calisthenics.  My diet will be the same this week as it was last week.  Check back tomorrow to get my reviews on today’s adventure in the journey to the Arnold Classic 2013.  Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

